This guide helps you find resources for your World History courses from library resources and reputable websites.
Find books
Books are an excellent resource for history research. Quickly determine if the book has what you need by using the book's table of contents and index.
Find eBooks
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThis collection of eBooks has books on world history, cultures, and religion
- DOAB: Directory of Open Access BooksThe Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for open access books. Use DOAB to access free to read monographs and edited volumes by searching and browsing the directory.
Find books in Thigpen Library
Search for books
Use Pioneer Search - "In the Library" to search for books by title, author, or subject. Login to your library account to request the book to be sent to your Vol State campus library.
- Pioneer Search - In the Library Search for items on the shelf in one of Vol State campus libraries
Browse the library shelves
There is not a specific classification area for the study of world history. Browse these areas in the second floor stacks of Thigpen Library.
B - Religion & philosophy
D - World history
N - Art & architecture
Find articles in databases
Use one or more of these library databases to find articles on your history topic. Articles from scholarly academic journals are available.
- Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window Collection of reference articles and primary documents on major historical issues and conflicts. Browse by eras s in World and U.S. history or by regions.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. As of 8/1/2024, ArtSTOR is now included in JSTOR.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Database with articles from a variety of periodicals, including scholarly journals.
- World History Collection (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Journals and magazines covering topics in world history. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Watch a streaming video
In the library's streaming video collections are documentaries and other videos on religion, culture, historical events and persons. The videos have transcripts that are searchable and take you quickly to any point in the video.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window This collection has more than 9,000 streaming videos on World History. Browse by subject or search for your topic Closed-captioned with transcripts
This link opens in a new window
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Browse the collections for streaming videos related to World Civilization or search for your topic. Closed-captioned with transcripts
Recommended websites
These websites are from reputable publishers, but may not meet the requirements of an assignment. The sites are good sources of information to learn about and understand a topic.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History Discover the story of art and global culture through The Met collection. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
- World History Encyclopedia History reference source that covers a wide range of topics in world history. Articles available as text and in an audio format. Images, maps, videos. and podcasts included. The encyclopedia follows academic standards but is written with the general public in mind.