Discover more Tennessee history with these resources
Search or browse to find books in Thigpen Library
Explore Websites: Tennessee history and Websites: Tennessee state government
Find articles in Tennessee history journals or use Tennessee newspapers in your research
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Explore a comprehensive database of premier periodical resource on multidisciplinary subjects. Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee.
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. ArtSTOR is included in JSTOR.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
provides an international mix of scholarly, professional, and consumer periodicals that cover over 150 subjects, including business, the sciences, medical, technology, literature, the arts, and history. Research Library is updated daily with new content and includes a deep backfile, providing users with deeper historical context. A key multidisciplinary resource, Research Library is built on renowned ProQuest vocabulary and indexing and brings all of these resources together through a single user-friendly interface.
For additional resources, click here!
Find books in the library
Thigpen Library has a collection of Tennessee history books available in print. Some books are not available for checkout and you are required use them in the library.
Search for books
- Pioneer Search - In the Library
Search for books on Tennessee history that are available on Thigpen Library shelves
Browse the shelves
Thigpen Library organizes the books on its shelves according to the Library of Congress Classification system. Find Tennessee state and local history books in the F431–F445 section.
Websites: Tennessee history
These websites, hosted by reputable organizations, are arranged alphabetically and link you to digital collections and online resources.
- Digital Library of TennesseeFind newspapers, photos, and documents contributed by institutions from across Tennessee.
- State-Level Lists of Fatal Casualties of the Korean War and the Vietnam WarThis National Archives resource has state-level lists of fatal casualties arranged alphabetically by name for the Korean War (6/28/1950 - 3/10/1954) and the Vietnam War (6/8/1956 - 5/28/2006)
- Tennessee 4 MeA timeline of Tennessee history beginning with the prehistoric age and continuing through history to the information age. An excellent resource for teachers.
Tennessee State Museum project. - Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & CultureTennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture provides general information about the state of Tennessee.
Originally published in 1998, this online version has updates to the original entries. Includes audio and video files. - Tennessee Founding and Landmark DocumentsDigital collection of documents that are significant milestones in the formation and early history of Tennessee. Each document includes a full transcription and historical text.
A TeVA collection provided by the Tenn. State Library & Archives - Tennessee Virtual Archive (TeVA)A digital repository of Tennessee history and culture created by Tenn. State Library and Archives. Find historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials.
Tennessee history journals
Articles on Tennessee history may be found in other scholarly journals, but these three journals focus exclusively on Tennessee history. Learn what is available online and in print at Thigpen Library for each journal.
Tennessee Historical Quarterly
Print collection begins with the first issue, but is missing a few issues.
Online access is available in JSTOR.
- Tennessee Historical Quarterly
Available through the JSTOR database. The publication began in 1942. NOTE: The most recent 3 years are not available online.
The Journal of East Tennessee History
Print collection is limited to 1996-2005
Online access is limited to a few articles from the Teach Tennessee History website
- Teach Tennessee History: selected publicationsPDF copies of selected articles from The Journal of East Tennessee History and Tennessee Ancestors are available on the Teach Tennessee History Site.
West Tennessee Historical Society (WTHS) Papers
Print collection starts with 1994
Online access is limited to the content as described in the links to the WTHS website and Shelby County Register of Deeds site.
- West Tenn. Historical Society (WTHS) Papers 2006-PresentTable of contents for each issue WTHS Papers since 2006 arranged chronologically. No full-text. No search feature.
- West Tenn. Historical Society (WTHS) Papers 1947-2015NOTE: Scroll down to bottom of the letter. Click the "I Accept" and "Proceed" to accept the disclaimer at the bottom of the letter and proceed to the archives.
Scanned images and PDFs of articles from the WTHS Papers arranged chronologically.
Tennessee newspapers
This list of online resources includes subscription databases, digital collections, and general information on Tennessee newspapers.
- Tennessean Historical Newspapers 1812 to 2002 This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages of The Tennessean (1812-2009) provide unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns. Discover not only Nashville-area news, but stories from around the state and the nation. Search and view news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries and cartoons from 1812 to 2009.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee. Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922.
Library of Congress - 19th Century Tennessee NewspapersA database of historic digitized Tennessee newspapers from the Library of Congress.
- How Do I Find Newspapers?A large collection of Tennessee newspapers is available at the Tennessee State Library and Archives (TSLA) in Nashville. Discover more about Tennessee newspapers with this TSLA guide.
Web sites: Tennessee state government
Here are a few websites from Tennessee state government offices that are relevant to studying Tennessee history.
- Tennessee Blue BookTennessee state government manual and state history. Current and past versions available.
- Acts & Resolutions of the Tenn. General AssemblyLegislation from the current Tennessee General Assembly and some past legislative sessions.
- Tennessee State Library and ArchivesTennessee State Library and Archives (TSLA) houses all state government documents and legislative materials. Discover manuscripts and books on Tennessee and its history. TSLA is open to the public.