Films on Demand is a subscription database of streaming videos from Infobase Learning.
This multidisciplinary collection has over 100,000 titles of full-length videos from prominent producers and publishers like Ken Burns, BBC, Frontline, History, NOVA, Modern Marvels, Bill Moyers, PBS, TED, NBC News, American Experience, ABC Nightline, Cambridge Educational, and many more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Streaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs. Closed-captioned with transcripts
Using Films on Demand
Videos in this collection are available for
- current Vol State students, faculty, and staff
- viewing both on-campus and off-campus
Current Vol State students, faculty, and staff can create a personal account within Films on Demand. This personal account remains valid until the user leaves Vol State or Thigpen Library cancels its subscription to this database.
The My Films account allows a user to
- save playlists,
- save searchers, and
- create custom segments from videos
Each video (or video segment) provides "Embed/Link" information.
There are three embed/link options:
- Record URL is the permalink. A permalink is a persistent URL that directs the user back to the intended page. Use the permalink and NOT the URL that appears in the address bar of your browser. The permalink includes the proxy information so authorized users can login and view the video from off campus.
- Embed Code contains code along with a proxied permalink. Select Embed Size to generate an Embed Code customized to the selected size.
- LTI link is for use only inside an eLearn course. Because eLearn is restricted to authorized users this link is not proxied and does not require an additional login to view the video.
This screen capture shows the Embed/Link box with the three options.
The streaming videos in Films on Demand meet accessibility standards.
- Videos are closed-captioned.
- Interactive transcripts accompany most videos.
- Advanced features, such as keyword search, print transcript and auto-scroll toggling, are available within the Transcript tab.
- Films on Demand: Accessibility Statement Information on the database's conformance to Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG). Link to Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT)
Public Performance Rights (PPR) are included with streaming videos in Films on Demand.
Admission fees or other charges are NOT allowed.
Terms of Service extract
The Web Platform is licensed solely to Licensee and Authorized Users for classroom teaching, research, presentations, and educational non-commercial multimedia projects for use in educational institutions, provided no admission or other fees are charged for public viewing. Licensee and Authorized Users may stream, display, publicly perform, or exhibit the Video Titles asynchronously on a single computer or network, course management system, or password-protected Web Platform. Licensee and Authorized Users may electronically save, organize, and share Video Titles or parts thereof with other Authorized Users using tools provided with the Web Platform. Licensee may create and distribute transcripts.
Read Films on Demand: Terms of Service for additional information and any updates to permitted uses.
Films on Demand Support provides
- Getting Started information,
- Training & Tutorials, and
- How to Tips on all aspects of using this streaming video collection.
- Films on Demand: Tools & Features Learn how to effectively use the many features of Films on Demand.