Literature Online is a reference resource for English and American literature. The database has scholarly journals, reference resources, and books. You will find literary criticism, reference resources on authors and their work, full-text poems and novels. This ProQuest database is also referred to as LION.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window An essential resource for the study and teaching of English and American literature. Over 350,000 literary works include a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. The online library explores poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Using Literature Online (LION)
Literature Online (LION) uses the ProQuest search interface so the general search features may be familiar.
- Only "Full Text" or"Full Text-PDF" retrieve the complete article.
- No full-text link means no article.
Unique to this database are
- ABELL
- Search options specific to literature
ABELL is an abbreviation of Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. Look for the ABELL icon. 
A criticism search limited to ABELL retrieves citations, abstracts, and full-text articles.
Quick search is the default search and finds all the resources related to a particular author, literary work, or subject.
Limit your search by selecting
- Criticism – scholarly articles, reviews, books, dissertations
- Primary Texts – original literary works of poetry, drama and prose.
- Author Pages
- Reference Works – encyclopedias, companions, dictionaries, biographies, study guides
Browse Authors by Literary period, Literary movement, or Author name
Criticisms are not available on all literary works.
LION is limited to works of English and American Literature.
Try searching in a different database JSTOR is a good option..
Literature Online provides citations for content from its collection. Look for the Cite icon to retrieve the citation.
Use the database citation ...
- Change the citation style, if necessary. MLA 8 is the default citation style that appears in the pop-up window.
- Copy and paste the citation.
- Review citation formatting. Edit to fit the citation style you are using. Citations may not be 100% correct.
Create your own citation ...
- Where did you find it? in the subscription database Literature Online
- What is it? the Details page identifies the source type
The Document URL for an article in Literature Online is the permalink. This unique URL easily takes you back to your source again. You may need this URL for your source citation.
Locate the Document URL on the Detail page of an article. The URL is also included with the MLA citation.
The Literature Online (LION) guide shows more about database features and how to use the ProQuest search platform.
- Literature Online (LION) guide from ProQuest Guide on using LION and the ProQuest search platform. CAUTION: This guide may mention collections or resources that are not available in the library's subscription.
This page offers easy access to the database Literature Online (LION) and provides a few tips about using this database effectively. It is not intended to be a comprehensive guide to the database; it simply assists Vol State users with common questions.