Skip to main content Thigpen Library Research Guides

Database Help: Login issues

get help with library databases

Thigpen Library subscribes to a variety of databases and access requires that 1) you must be affiliated with Vol State and 2) you must use our "official links." You cannot go directly to a database like ProQuest Research Library and use your Vol State user name and password to gain access. Using the library links verifies that you are authorized to use our subscription.

The same Vol State user name and password that logs you into the campus computer, portal, and eLearn gets you access to Thigpen Library databases.

On this page you will find information about login basics for library resources and other college resources. Find solutions to issues with a database link, an article, ebook, or video link, the browser cache, or log in for Pioneer Search links and library account.


Questions about your NoodleTools account? Go to the NoodleTools guide and find the answer on "My NoodleTools Account. "

Login basics for library resources

Thigpen Library e-resources (databases) are limited to current Vol State faculty, staff, and students. Users away from a Vol State campus computer must verify that they are affiliated with Vol State. You do this by logging in to the proxy server before going to the database.

Verification is easy when you use the "official" links from Thigpen Library. These "official" links open a login page in a new browser window to verify your affiliation. On the "Thigpen Library Online Resources" page enter your Vol State network / portal username and password.

Login page window disappears when you enter a valid username and password.  Type carefully because entering the incorrect information too many times can temporarily lock your Vol State account.

screen capture webpage "Thigpen Library: login..."

Login issue: link to database

The most common login problem is failure to use an "official" Thigpen Library link for an electronic resource.

Select your database from the A-Z Databases list or use a link from a library research guide.

  • Do not "google" the name of the database.
  • Do not bookmark (save) the database link.

From off-campus you will be prompted to login to the proxy on the "Thigpen Library Online Resources" page. If you do not see this login page and you are using an "official" link then your web browser is probably blocking the page.

  • Go to the proxy Login page, login, and then select the desired database from the A-Z database list
  • Try opening a different database on the A-Z list to be prompted for a proxy login. If that logs you in then select the desired database
  • Or clear the browser cache so are you taken to the "Thigpen Library Online Resources" page when you select your database

Login issue: link to specific article, ebook, or video

To go directly to the article, ebook, video, or other resource from a library database the link must begin with the proxy prefix https://libproxy.volstate.edu/login?url= and must be a permalink.

Proxy

The proxy is how authorized users gain access to the library's subscription resources from off-campus. You are routed through the proxy when you select a database link from our A-Z Database list. You login to the proxy on the "Thigpen Library Online Resources Page."

Permalink

When you want to save a link to a specific article, ebook, or streaming video look for the permalink (also called document URL or stable URL). These permalinks, not the browser bar link, take you back to the specific resource.

Permalinks need the proxy URL as a prefix to allow easy access to the subscription resource. Many of our subscription resources include this prefix automatically, but some like JSTOR and the TEL resources do not. It is easy to add the proxy prefix.

TIP You can also use this proxy URL to go directly to the proxy login page where you can sign in and then open a saved database permalink to an article, ebook, or database.

Create a Proxied Permalink

When the proxy prefix is missing copy the proxy URL and paste in front of the permalink. Make sure no extra punctuation or spaces are added to the finished URL.

https://libproxy.volstate.edu/login?url=

An LTI permalink is an exception to the rule. The proxy prefix is not required since this link should only be used in eLearn.

A link saved from the browser's address bar may not work even when you are logged in. These links are temporary and the database does not recognize the link. Adding the proxy prefix may not work for these links. Look for a document ID or accession number in the link and search for this number in the database.

Login issue: browser cache

Browser caches are designed to make your web pages load faster, but the cache can prevent you from reaching the correct page when using secure resources like library databases.

There are two options to clear browser cache problems. One option is to clear the entire cache for the browser. Another option is to bypass the cache with a hard refresh. A hard refresh clears the cache for a specific page, forcing it to load the most recent version.

Hard Refresh for web browsers on a PC: 

Chrome:  CTRL + Reload button or CTRL F5

Firefox: CTRL + R  or  F5

IE / EDGE :  CTRL + Refresh  button or CTRL F5

Login options for Pioneer Search

There are two login options in Pioneer Search - one is obvious and one is slightly hidden. Each option serves a different purpose. Use your Vol State username and password for both logins.

There is a "Sign in" option on the screen with search results. There is also a Sign in link on the main navigation bar. Selecting Sign in from either link will log you into your library account. Your library account shows your checked out library materials and allows you to renew materials online. When signed in you can save searches, keep favorites, and email search results.

The other option allows you to access an online article, ebook, or streaming video. Click the "Full-text available" or "online access" link. When the resource is available in more than one database select the database title to view the resource. If you are off-campus you will be directed to the proxy login for verification. This is the same process used when you select a database to search from our A-Z Database list.

WARNING: Although the same username / password is used for both logins the verification process occurs on different servers. Use the full-text available or online access link for direct access to the resource.

Login: college resources

Call the IT help desk (615) 230-3302 if you have login issues with Zoom, Office 365, eLearn, student email, or the portal.


The College uses different login and authentication methods than the library. For resources like Zoom @ VolState or Office 365 you may see an Authentication Required pop-up window or a Volstate Federation Service login screen. There may be variations in the pop-up windows but you use your network / portal User Name and Password to login to Vol State resources. These logins are not used for library resources.

web browser pop-up "Authentication Required"

web browser pop-up "Volstate Federation Service"

Always use "official" links from Vol State sites to avoid scams or bogus websites that steal your login credentials..