Kanopy
Kanopy is a collection of streaming videos. In this collection you will find full-length documentaries, Criterion collection movies, and foreign films.
This streaming service does not provide unlimited free viewing like our other streaming collections. The Library .purchases annual licenses for select films and documentaries.
You are NOT required to have a Kanopy account to watch the videos licensed by Thigpen Library. See Watching Kanopy videos; Personal Accounts in Kanopy for more information..
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Streaming video collection. Includes documentaries and feature films. Most videos are closed-captioned. Warning! You may see a "Create Your Account" page that implies you need to create a Kanopy account. You do NOT need a Kanopy account to watch the videos. Click the "skip" button - you may need to scroll to find the button - to go to the videos.
Watching Kanopy videos
Any current Vol State student, faculty, or staff can watch our licensed Kanopy videos from either on-campus and off-campus.
You are NOT required to have a Kanopy account to watch the videos licensed by Thigpen Library. You do need to login to the library's account to access videos. This is the standard login procedure used all library subscription resources.
You may see a "Create Your Account " page after clicking our database link. This page urges you to create a Kanopy account, but you are not required to have a Kanopy account to watch the Kanopy videos in the library's subscription. If you want an account be sure to read the terms and privacy policy very carefully.
To watch a video without creating an account, click the "skip" button – you may need to scroll to find the button.
Kanopy support reports that the error message "requestMediaKeySystemAccess is disabled by feature policy" indicates the the browser does not support DRM-protection on the embedded film.
To fix this DRM browser issue –
- verify that your browser is up-to-date,
- clear the browser cache, and
- ensure that protection playback is enabled.
- In the Chrome browser, check the protection playback by going to "chrome://settings/content"
Viewing films in a group forum is permitted for all films for classroom viewings
Most films can be viewed for non-classroom group settings if the viewing is
- by authorized viewers and
- not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening).
- Contact Kanopy to confirm that the film is available for a showing to a group forum.
PPR Exceptions
JANUS films in the Kanopy collection do not include Public Performance Rights (November 2018)
Use Kanopy Help: For Viewers to find answers to technical questions on watching videos and using an account linked to the library's subscription..
Using Kanopy in the classroom
Kanopy provides users with three options to share or embed a film. Select the "Share/Embed" button associated with the video these options.
When connecting to view a video from off-campus, users will be redirected to a Thigpen Library login page for authentication before they can watch the film.
Kanopy support reports that the error message "requestMediaKeySystemAccess is disabled by feature policy" indicates the the browser does not support DRM-protection on the embedded film.
To fix this DRM browser issue –
- verify that your browser is up-to-date,
- clear the browser cache, and
- ensure that protection playback is enabled.
- In the Chrome browser, check the protection playback by going to "chrome://settings/content"
Viewing films in a group forum is permitted for all films for classroom viewings.
Kanopy does not offer unlimited viewing of all videos. Thigpen Library purchases one-year licenses to individual Kanopy videos needed to support academics.
Email librarian@volstate.edu with questions about Kanopy licenses or to request a Kanopy video for use in the classroom.
The majority of videos are closed-captioned. Enable the closed-captions with the CC icon.
Transcripts do not automatically appear.
To access the dynamic transcript
- click on More,
- select Transcript while the video is playing, and
- transcript appear below the video..
Contact a Librarian if you discover an accessibility issue with a video.
- Contact the Vol State Library Find contact information for Thigpen Library. Set up a Research Consultation.